Moving Forward with Uncertainty

Colin Tobin, Managing Editor

Especially during my first two years in Wooster, there were a lot of moments of self-doubt where I would question whether I made the right choice by not going to a college closer to home, and constantly thought about going back. Was Wooster the right choice? Living alone in a bland dorm room during the COVID semesters left me plenty of time to contemplate this question. Sitting here while writing my last piece for The Voice during my last few weeks at the College, I can confidently say that I cannot imagine what my life would look like without the people I’ve met, friends I’ve made and memories I’ve shaped here.

Junior year provided a fresh start where I met most of my closest friends and got the opportunity to join The Voice in a role at the office, which gave me something to look forward to every week. Looking back, joining this organization was one of the best decisions I could’ve made, and I never would’ve expected it to have such an impact on my life. Here, I’ve had the opportunity to interact with some of the smartest, most determined people I know, be a part of something that made me feel connected to the College as a community and creatively express myself. The combination of everything during my last two years gave me the feeling that my time spent here had a purpose and, as I began to truly love and appreciate my time this past year, it’s all almost over.

As I move on from Wooster, I know that I will probably continue to ask myself the same questions about making the right choices during the next chapters of my life. Like many others, I’m sure, I have a great deal of fear of the unknown in terms of what comes next. My mind keeps going back to the beginning of “The Graduate,” when an overly anxious Dustin Hoffman is being bombarded with the daunting question, “what are you going to do now?” by people he barely knows, and not having a concrete answer in place. However, my experiences here taught me that it’s not worth it to overanalyze the past or think too hard about the future; it’s all what you do with the situation you’re in and the decisions you make from there.

Leave a comment