Scotlight: Features Editors

Features editors Emilie Eustace ’24 and Emma Shinker ’24 interview each other about college, fun and their positions at the Voice.

Can you introduce yourself? 

Emilie: Hey! I am Emilie Eustace, a junior Psychology and Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies double major. I use she/her pronouns. I am from Pioneer, OH. 

Emma: Hi! My name is Emma Shinker. I use she/her pronouns and I am a junior English and History double major. I am from Lewis Center, OH. 

What activities are you involved in outside of classes?

Emilie: I am going into my second year of being co-editor of the Features section for the Voice. I am also a member of Delta Theta Psi and a tour guide on campus.

Emma: As you can tell, I am also co-editor of the Features section for the Voice. Additionally, I play the violin in the Wooster Symphony Orchestra and am a member of Wooster Activities Crew (WAC).

Do you have any advice for first-year students?

Emilie: I was so unprepared and did not use my resources nor my time properly during my first year. If I could go back, I definitely would have utilized APEX more and also just had more one-on-one meetings with my professors. It is so important to form relationships with both professors and peers, so do not be nervous to reach out when you need it. Also, enjoy your time…do something fun, pick up new hobbies and be the best version of yourself that you can be (corny, I know). 

Emma: It might be cliché, but my advice is to make sure you venture out of your comfort zone, even just a little bit. As an introvert, this is really hard advice for me to follow sometimes, especially when it comes to putting myself in social situations, but it’s always been worth it. Besides orchestra, none of the clubs I’m involved with are things I thought I would do when I began college, but they’ve all been great experiences.

In a trivia game, what category would you dominate?

Emilie: If I am being completely honest, trivia is not my strong suit. I do not work well under pressure. Reality TV is my guilty pleasure, however, and I am confident in my ability to answer any question about the Kardashians. 

Emma: I think my answer has to be Taylor Swift. I’ve loved her music for a long time and I think it would be fun to test myself on how well I actually know it. I also have a lot of random knowledge about books so I think I could do pretty well in a literature category.

What do you enjoy most about the Voice?

Emilie: The Voice has proven to be a great community on campus. My favorite thing about the Voice is that it keeps me constantly informed about what is happening on campus. Since working for the Voice, I have started to attend more events that I ever had before and am also much more informed on campus and student struggles and successes. 

Emma: I also think the Voice has been a great way to stay informed about what is going on around campus. I started at Wooster in 2020 during the height of COVID so, like many of us, I spent a lot of time feeling very disconnected. I like that my position here not only makes me feel closer to the community, but that it can help other students, staff, faculty and visitors feel the same way.

What is your favorite event that you have covered for the Features section?

Emilie: I loved the opportunity to cover Ubuntu, an event put on annually by the African Students Union (ASU). It was the first ASU event that I attended at the College, and it was incredible. It also allowed me to reach out to a lot of new people and ask about different experiences people have on and off campus. This event was eye-opening, as well as super fun to attend. 

Emma: I don’t remember if this was for the Features section, but I (unsurprisingly) had the most fun covering Taylor Swift night at the Underground (UG) last year. I also enjoyed covering the first meeting of the Disability Advocacy & Support Alliance (DASA) — everyone was excited to be there and passionate about the new group’s goals, so it was a cool experience.

Please feel free to reach out to either of us at eeustace24@wooster.edu or eshinker24@wooster.edu if you are interested in writing for the Features section of the Voice. We are always looking for new writers that are passionate about campus events! 

Leave a comment